June 20, 2024

Some faces of the deposed members of parliament

In a expected shake-up over the weekend, New Patriotic Party (NPP) delegates voted against the return of 28 incumbent legislators to the 9th Parliament in 2025.
The ousted MPs include Deputy Health Minister Tina Naa Ayeley Mensah (Weija-Gbawe), Collins Ntim (Offinso North), Sheila Bartels (Ablekuma North), and Sarah Adwoa Safo (Dome Kwabenya).

Among the notable casualties are Gifty Twum Ampofo (Abuakwa North), Okyere Agyekum (Fanteakwa South), Emmanuel Anhwere (Atwima Nwabiagya), and Emmanuel Gyamfi representing Odotobri. Isaac Asiamah (Atwima Mponua), Elvis Donkoh (Asebu Abura Kwamankese), Bright Wereko Brobby (Hemang Lower Denkyira), Eugene Boakye-Antwi (Subin), and Joseph Cudjoe (Effia) also failed to secure their positions.

Minister of Sanitation, Freda Prempeh (Tano North), Ama Pomaa (Juaben), Akwasi Boateng (Bosome-Freho), Kwadwo Asante (Suhum), Moses Anim (Trobu), Dr. Dickson Adomako Kissi (Anyaa-Sowutuom), Osei Frimpong (Abiriem), George Obeng Takyi (Manso Nkwanta), Mahama Seini (Daboya Mankarigu), and Lariba Abudu (Walewale) complete the list of incumbents who were unseated.

Despite these losses, Francis Asenso-Boakye and Dr. Prince Armah managed to break the one-term jinx in their respective constituencies. The NPP now faces the challenge of uniting its base and integrating new faces into its parliamentary team, a task that could shape the party’s prospects in the upcoming elections.
Out of the 28 outgoing members of parliament, seven are from the Greater Accra Region, constituting half of the region’s constituencies controlled by the NPP in Parliament.

The NPP, after securing a substantial majority in the 2016 elections, faced setbacks in 2020, losing 32 seats and regaining the parliamentary majority through an independent candidate aligning with the party. As the party prepares for the 2024 elections, these internal changes will be crucial in determining its political trajectory in the coming years.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *