NPP Activist backs Minority MPs for disobeying court order


Alhaj Suleman Usif, a New Patriotic Party, NPP, activist cum Columnist has taken a swipe at the Ghana Police Administration for their blatant refusal to invite Assin Central Lawmaker and Chairman of Kencity Media, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong for questioning over his radio commentary.

Some twenty-one minority members of parliament were scheduled to appear before an Accra Circuit Court on Monday 4th January 2021 to justify why they decided to embark on a walk to the Head Office of the Electoral Commission without permit.

The police in a statement of offence accused the Minority Law Makers of failing to notify the police before holding a special event contrary to sections 1, 2 and 9 of the Public Order Act.

They have also charged them with unlawful assembly contrary to section 202 of the Criminal Offences Act.

But the Court was forced to adjourned hearing to 19th January 2021 because none of the over twenty Lawmakers standing accused were in court.

Reacting to the disobedience by the Minority, the NPP Activist, insisted the Police and Courts of the land must demonstrate that they have what it takes to tame the likes of Kennedy Agyapong before going after Legislators of the Minority whose only offense was embarking on a peaceful walk to the offices of the Electoral Commission (EC).

He expressed satisfaction with the decision of the Minority Members of Parliament to disregard the invitation by the court.

For Suleman, the Security Agency have no justifiable reasons running after Haruna Iddrisu and his team.

He urged the Police Administration to stop creating a forest and jungle where survival is the preserve of the fittest.

‘I support the minority’s decision to deride the court summons secured by the police’. Until the courts and police prove to have the balls to deal with lawless people like Kennedy Agyapong, they have no business hounding and targeting other citizens. We cannot create a forest and jungle where the Darwinian evolutionary theory of the ‘survival of the fittest’ is the order of the day!’

The affected Lawmakers by the summons include Deputy Minority Leader James Klutse Avedzi, Minority Chief Whip Muntaka Mubarak, Ningo Prampram MP Samuel George, former Deputy Interior Minister James Agalga, John Jinapor, Rockson Dafiamekpor, Adam Mutawakilu, Ebenezer Terlabi, Dr. Kwabena Donkor, A. B. A. Fuseini, Kofi Buah, Rashid Pelpuo and Richard Quarshigah.

The rest are Collins Dauda, Yussif Jahja, Kwabena Mintah Akandoh, and Kunbungu MP Ras Mubarack. NDC Deputy General Secretary Peter Otukunor is the other individual charged in connection with the alleged offenses.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here