April 12, 2024

Alan Kyeremanten, flag bearer hopeful

The internet never forgets, they say. This saying has occurred on the part of the serial presidential aspirant of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), John Kwadwo Alan Kyeremanten who is reported to have discounted the politics of it’s my turn to lead in the run-up to the 2010 flagbearer-ship race of the party.

A story first posted by Isaac Yeboah on myjoypnline.com and reproduced by mordernghana.com on 05 August 2010, reported Alan Kyeremanten’s strong objection to politics of ‘I must be president, it’s my turn’.

Though the NPP chieftain did not directly name Nana Akufo-Addo his remark, his words, however, were read to mean a response to the claim at the time that it was the turn of the ‘all die be die’ aspirant to lead the New Patriotic Party to take political power from the National Democratic Congress.

According to the news report, Alan Kyeremanten, enjoined delegates the party to look beyond party credentials in deciding on who to fly the flag of the party into the 2012 election.
He made the call while speaking on Asempa FM’s sociopolitical talk show ‘Ekosii Sen’ on Thursday August 5, 2010.
For Alan, it will serve the NPP no good in its search for power if a candidate put up by the party because delegates think he has been around longer than others, and ends up being rejected by the nation as a whole.
He argued vehemently that there was no truth in claims that he is a new comer in the party who must wait for his turn, stressing that what he seeks to do is to return the NPP back to power to steer national development.
Justifying his call, he said, results of the party’s 2008 flagbearer elections pointed the conclusion that the race has nothing to do with one’s age, neither is he a stranger in the party contrary to claims by his detractors and others who may prefer other aspirants to him.
In his estimation, if that were true, he would not have come second because out of the seventeen aspirants, he was neither the youngest nor the oldest.
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo was seeking to be retained by the party after failing to win power for the party in 2008.
His contenders at the time were Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten, Prof. Kwabena Frimpong Boateng, Isaac Osei and Reverend John Kwame Kodua.
Strangely, those who spoke lowly against politics of ‘it’s my turn’ politics in 2008, 2010, and 2014 have all suddenly become evangelists of ‘it’s Alan’s turn.
Historically speaking, if “it’s my turn” is now reason enough to be elected a leader in the NPP shouldn’t it be a Northerner’s turn?

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *